Sign in to follow this  
sleeper_s15

To buy a bike or not to buy a bike

So i'm a 22yr old uni student working two part-time jobs. Uni, work and footy requires me to travel roughly 300km's a week not including driving around to just get personal stuff done. What i've been weighing up is whether or not to purchase a motorcycle. Reasons being obviously economy, and thrill seeking and opportunity to work on the car having a 2nd vehicle.

I had my licence before but then decided to responsible and not to purchase one due to having to pay rego and insurance for two vehicles when i was only working one job close to home and basically just wanted to get one to have fun. Now that i have a 2nd job which requires a bit of travel, is it worth it getting one now?? Obvious driving the 15 isn't very economical and money isnt really an issue as i'll most likely be picking up a 250rr for under 3k and i've already got gear etc.

So question is, anyone on here own a performance car and a bike? And do you think it is financially worth it, and what am i looking at in terms of dollar value maintaining a bike, rego, insurance etc.

Cheers

Few friends did it. Basically, the bike is a cheap run around, until you come off it. It's less practical than the car, but you can split traffic, and get to and from work quicker. But coming off a bike isn't so much to do with your skill, but more up to other people seeing you on the road.

But you can't do mad wheelie's in an s15, unless you spend big bucks.

do it you save heaps. i was spending $60-80 a week driving the car to work. bought a 250rr costs $14 a fortnight, paid for itself pretty quick.

rego-$380-430

insurance-whats thattongue.gif

maintenance- $50 oil every 5000km, rear tyre $180 about 8000-12000km depends how you ride, $20 oil filter, $30 spark plugs.

its cheaper to have a bike & car.